

## BCSLA Scholarship Winners Dr. John Wesley Neill Medal and Prize – November 2022

The British Columbia Society of Landscape Architects provides the Dr. John Wesley Neill Prize to the outstanding graduating student in Landscape Architecture. The award recognizes that student who has demonstrated a high level of academic achievement, leadership ability and commitment to ideals of the profession and includes a \$1,000 stipend. While the travel stipend can be used for any travel project it is suggested for attendance at the annual meeting of the International Society of Arboriculture ISA (held in North American city in August of each year). The award honours the founder of the program in Landscape Architecture at UBC and is made on the recommendation of the School or Architecture and Landscape Architecture in consultation with the Faculty of Graduate Studies.

Those who won the Prize from 2003 – 2021, received the financial award however, the medal portion of the Prize was unavailable during that time period. Paul Sangha, MBCSLA 174, worked with the University of BC and the BCSLA to re-establish the medal. In November 2022 the UBC School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (SALA), with the BCSLA, re-established the medal that previously accompanied the Dr. John Wesley Neill Prize in Landscape Architecture. Award winners who did not receive the medal at the time of their award were contacted and arrangements were made to retroactively present the medal to the recipients. UBC SALA has generously supported the costs of the medal. Thank you!

Congratulations to all the winners.

The BCSLA offices are located on unceded Coast Salish territories of the x<sup>w</sup>məθkwəÿəm (Musqueam), Skwxwú7mesh (Squamish), and səlilwətaʔɨ (Tsleil-Waututh) First Nations. We recognize and respect the history, languages, and cultures of the First Nations, Métis, Inuit, and all First Peoples of Canada, whose presence continues to enrich our organization, our lives and our country.



## John Wesley Neil Medal and Prize (continued)

Year	Name
2021 Winter Session	Ivana Lexa-French
2020 Winter Session	Duncan Chambers
2019 Winter Session	Jessica Udal
2018 Winter Session	Pauline Moska
2017 Winter Session	Kaitlyn McGeary
2016 Winter Session	Tasha Sangha
2015 Winter Session	Anezka Gocova*
2014 Winter Session	Christopher Windjack
2013 Winter Session	Ryan Coghlan
2012 Winter Session	Ania Duran Gaillard
2011 Winter Session	Mary Wong
2010 Winter Session	Sarah Primeau
2009 Winter Session	Megan Vogt
2008 Winter Session	Alia Johnson
2007 Winter Session	Ellen Pond
2006 Winter Session	Lindsay Hodgins
2005 Winter Session	Ann-Marie Jackson
2004 Winter Session	Alison Maddaugh
2003 Winter Session	Shana Johnstone
2002 Winter Session	Heather Sadler
2001 Summer Session	Shira Golden
2000 Winter Session	Joanne Proft
1999 Winter Session	Megan Walker
1998 Winter Session	Cecilia Achiam
1997 Winter Session	Derek Lee
1996 Winter Session	Jacqueline Teed
1995 Winter Session	Lynda Carabetta
1994 Winter Session	Mark Holland
1993 Winter Session	Jason Yee
1992 Winter Session	Mary Blue
1991 Winter Session	Susan Haid
1989 Winter Session	Lyle Grant
1988 Winter Session	Dana Young
1988 Winter Session	Geoffrey Gooderham
1987 Winter Session	Gregory Smallenberg
1986 Winter Session	William Rosenau
1985 Winter Session	Sukhpal Sangha
1984 Winter Session	Julie Hicks
1983 Winter Session	Yvonne Stich
1982 Winter Session	Jill Singleton

<sup>\*</sup>Prize increased from \$500 to \$1,000